Montclair Golf Club Review (2026): Four Nines, Zero Price Tag
Montclair Golf Club in West Orange, NJ is private, Ross and Banks designed, and silent on fees. Our 2026 review covers access, history and who it fits.
Honest golf club reviews covering green fees, course conditions, membership costs and visitor access — from iconic US private clubs to Australia’s best coastal and Sandbelt layouts. GreatClubReview has reviewed 172 golf clubs on a 5-point scale, each with real pros, cons and a clear verdict on whether the club is worth your time and money. Every review states the fees the club actually publishes and says plainly when it publishes none, which is more often than the industry admits: of 95 American clubs reviewed here, exactly one publishes an initiation fee.
The 30 highest-scored of 170 clubs we have reviewed in this category — browse the sub-categories or the full list below for the rest. Figures are as published or reported at each club's last review; open a review for sourcing and the full cost picture.
| Club | Score | Location | Fees / Dues | Initiation | Access |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kingston Heath Golf Club | 4.9 | Cheltenham, VIC | Not publicly disclosed; private membership enquiry requir… | Not publicly disclosed | Private Sandbelt club; visitor ac… |
| Royal Melbourne Golf Club | 4.9 | Black Rock, VIC | Not publicly disclosed; visitor fees shown only after ver… | Not publicly disclosed | Private membership; interstate, i… |
| Winged Foot Golf Club | 4.9 | Mamaroneck, NY | Reported ~$15,000–$20,000/year annual dues (not published… | ~$150,000–$200,000 (not publicly disclo… | — |
| Apogee Golf Club | 4.8 | Hobe Sound, FL | Inquiry required | Not publicly disclosed | Private membership only |
| Baltusrol Golf Club | 4.8 | Springfield, NJ | ~$18,500/year annual dues | ~$150,000 (not publicly disclosed) | — |
| Gozzer Ranch Golf and Lake Club | 4.8 | Harrison, ID | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Private membership and invited-gu… |
| New South Wales Golf Club | 4.8 | La Perouse, NSW | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Private member club with invited … |
| The Australian Golf Club | 4.8 | Rosebery, NSW | Membership fees and annual subscriptions are not publicly… | Not publicly disclosed | Private member club with member g… |
| Valhalla Golf Club | 4.8 | Louisville, KY | Private membership; dues and initiation not publicly disc… | Not publicly disclosed by the club | Private; members and invited gues… |
| Bayonne Golf Club | 4.7 | Bayonne, NJ | Not disclosed; public estimates commonly cite about $18,5… | Not disclosed; public reports commonly … | Private and invitation-only |
| Brook Hollow Golf Club | 4.7 | Dallas, TX | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Private membership and invited gu… |
| Concord Golf Club | 4.7 | Concord, NSW | Not publicly disclosed; private invitation membership | Not publicly disclosed | Private invitation membership, ju… |
| Lake Merced Golf Club | 4.7 | Daly City, CA | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Private, member-hosted or recipro… |
| Liberty National Golf Club | 4.7 | Jersey City, NJ | Not publicly disclosed; outside estimates suggest $25,000… | Not publicly disclosed; outside estimat… | Private, invitation or club inqui… |
| Royal Queensland Golf Club | 4.7 | Eagle Farm, QLD | Annual subscriptions are not publicly itemised; membershi… | Member entrance fee applies; current ta… | Private; visitor play by approval |
| Royal Sydney Golf Club | 4.7 | Rose Bay, NSW | Not publicly disclosed; Centenary Course guest fee A$60 p… | Not publicly disclosed | Private membership and member gue… |
| Sycamore Hills Golf Club | 4.7 | Fort Wayne, IN | Inquiry required | Not publicly disclosed | Private local, regional, and nati… |
| The Eastern Golf Club | 4.7 | Yering, VIC | A$3,710/year Full membership for 2026/27 plus levies | A$3,000 for Full, Intermediate and Week… | Private membership with limited v… |
| The Lakes Golf Club | 4.7 | Eastlakes, NSW | Membership subscriptions are not publicly itemised in the… | Not publicly disclosed | Private member club with limited … |
| Ansley Golf Club | 4.6 | Atlanta, GA | Not publicly disclosed; membership requires nomination by… | Not publicly disclosed | Private membership by Board invit… |
| Aviara Golf Club | 4.6 | Carlsbad, CA | Membership pricing is not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Public resort play with Club at A… |
| Bonnie Doon Golf Club | 4.6 | Pagewood, NSW | Price on application | Price on application | Full Playing, Six-Day, Weekday, C… |
| Broadmoor Golf Club | 4.6 | Seattle, WA | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Private membership and invited gu… |
| Detroit Golf Club | 4.6 | Detroit, MI | Not published; reported renovation assessment of $5,760 a… | Reported $42,000 for Class A after an i… | Equity-based, by invitation only,… |
| Jeffersonville Golf Club | 4.6 | Jeffersonville, PA | $65 Monday–Thursday, $75 Friday, $90 weekends | None | Public with West Norriton residen… |
| Kooyonga Golf Club | 4.6 | Lockleys, SA | Membership category and subscription details require dire… | Not publicly disclosed | Private membership; visitor enqui… |
| Montclair Golf Club | 4.6 | West Orange, NJ | Private membership; dues not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed by the club | Private; members and invited gues… |
| Narooma Golf Club | 4.6 | Narooma, NSW | A$1,525 full golfing membership | No separate joining fee found in curren… | Public-access member club with vi… |
| Pymble Golf Club | 4.6 | St Ives, NSW | 2026-27 fees under review; contact membership team | Not publicly confirmed for 2026-27 | Platinum, Gold, Bronze, Social; f… |
| Stone Canyon Golf Club | 4.6 | Oro Valley, AZ | Inquiry required | Not publicly disclosed | Private golf and country club |
Montclair Golf Club in West Orange, NJ is private, Ross and Banks designed, and silent on fees. Our 2026 review covers access, history and who it fits.
Randwick Golf Club review: 2026 public fees, FY27 membership, short coastal course, facilities, pros, cons and verdict.
Queanbeyan Golf Club review: 2026 green fees, 2026-27 membership, course ratings, facilities, pros, cons and verdict.
Pymble Golf Club review: private access, full membership, rebuilt course, Top-100 ranking, facilities, pros, cons and verdict.
Pennant Hills Golf Club review: 2026-27 fees, Heritage Fee, private access, course design, facilities, pros, cons and verdict.
Honest New South Wales Golf Club review: visitor access, course design, rankings, membership, dress code, pros, cons and verdict.
Honest Moore Park Golf review: current 10-hole fees, 2026 course changes, range, access, membership, pros, cons and verdict.
Honest Massey Park Golf Club review: 2026 fees, membership waitlist, public access, TrackMan, pros, cons and verdict.
Honest Marrickville Golf Club review: 2026 green fees, membership, public access, conditions, pros, cons and verdict.
Honest Kareela Golf Club review: A$43 green fees, 2026-27 membership, par-65 layout, visitor access, pros, cons and verdict.
Honest Howlong Golf Club review: A$400 membership, resort access, course strategy, stay-and-play value, pros, cons and verdict.
Honest Gosford Golf Club review: 2026 green fees, A$1,095 membership, visitor access, course notes, pros, cons and verdict.
Honest Dunheved Golf Club review: A$30 weekday golf, visitor access, membership, course strategy, pros, cons and 2026 verdict.
Honest Cronulla Golf Club review: 2026 green fees, membership waitlist, par-70 course, visitor access, pros, cons and verdict.
Honest Concord Golf Club review: Tom Doak redesign, private visitor access, membership, course rating, pros, cons and 2026 verdict.
Honest Box Hill Golf Club review: 2026 membership fees, visitor access, par-71 layout, dress code, pros, cons and verdict.
Honest Bondi Golf Club review: 2026 green fees, 9-hole layout, visitor access, membership, views, pros, cons and verdict.
Honest Beverley Park Golf Club review: A$44 green fees, membership waitlist, course notes, pros, cons and 2026 verdict.
Honest Bardwell Valley Golf Club review: visitor bookings, A$49 social fee, membership, dress code, pros, cons and verdict.
Honest Balgowlah Golf Club review: A$31.50 9-hole fees, membership, visitor access, dress code, pros, cons and verdict.
Honest Avondale Golf Club review: visitor access, membership, dress code, course notes, pros, cons and 2026 verdict.
The 17 best golf clubs in Queensland, ranked from our published reviews – Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast, green fees, access and honest cons.
The best golf club in Texas in 2026 is Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth — Gil Hanse’s $20 million restoration of Hogan’s Alley earned it 4.7/5, the…
The 20 best golf clubs in Australia, ranked from our published reviews – Sandbelt icons, Sydney prestige, public access, fees and honest cons.
The best golf club in NSW in 2026 is The Australian Golf Club in Rosebery. Its 1882 history, Jack Nicklaus Signature Design renovation, and repeated Australian Open hosting…
GCR Score: 4.9 / 5. Verdict: Exceptional Sandbelt golf if you can get access; not built for casual public play. Best For: Serious architecture fans, Sandbelt travellers and…
GCR Score: 4.5 / 5 Verdict: Highly recommended for serious Perth visitors who can meet the access rules. Best For: Interstate/overseas club golfers, South Perth members and private-club…
GCR Score: 4.4 / 5 Verdict: Recommended for WA golfers who value heritage, member culture and controlled private-club access. Best For: Fremantle/Perth members, reciprocal visitors and golfers who…
GCR Score: 4.7 / 5 Verdict: Highly recommended if you can access it and the A$500 visitor fee makes sense. Best For: Brisbane golfers, interstate visitors with a…
Honest Kwinana Golf Club review: green fees, membership prices, public access, redevelopment plans, pros, cons and 2026 verdict.