United States private golf clubs do not publish what membership costs. GreatClubReview checked all 95 American clubs it has reviewed: one publishes an initiation fee, and of the 28 clubs classed private or invitation-only, none publishes an initiation fee and three publish dues. Australian clubs publish a joining fee 41% of the time. Compare what each club discloses, and what is only reported, below.
- 1 of 95American clubs reviewed that publish an initiation fee
- 15 of 95American clubs that publish an annual membership price
- 0 of 28Private and invitation-only clubs that publish an initiation fee
- 41%Australian clubs that publish a joining fee, for comparison
| Initiation fee | Annual membership | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Caves Valley Golf Club | MD | Invitation only | Not published — quotes on application | $25,000 | Figure stated |
| Avery Ranch Golf Club | TX | Not recorded | Not published — quotes on application | $1,999/mo ($23,988/yr) | Figure stated |
| Winged Foot Golf Club | NY | Invitation only | Not published — quotes on application | $20,000 | Figure stated |
| Baltusrol Golf Club | NJ | Invitation only | Not published — quotes on application | $18,500 | Figure stated |
| Abacoa Golf Club | FL | Public | $10,000 | $11,250 | Figure stated |
| Chimera Golf Club | NV | Public | Not published — quotes on application | $10,000 | Figure stated |
| McCormick Ranch Golf Club | AZ | Public | No initiation fee charged | $4,550 | Figure stated |
| Bridlewood Golf Club | TX | Public | No initiation fee charged | $4,200 | Figure stated |
| Fort Mill Golf Club | SC | Public | Not published — quotes on application | $350/mo ($4,200/yr) | Figure stated |
| Wilmette Golf Club | IL | Municipal | No initiation fee charged | $2,700 | Figure stated |
| Winnetka Golf Club | IL | Public | No initiation fee charged | $2,500 | Figure stated |
| Deerfield Golf Club | IL | Public | Not published — quotes on application | $2,132 | Figure stated |
| Hillandale Golf Course | NC | Municipal | No initiation fee charged | $1,395 | Figure stated |
| Water’s Edge Golf Club | IL | Municipal | No initiation fee charged | $1,250 | Figure stated |
| Briarwood Golf Club | PA | Public | No initiation fee charged | $80 (junior plan) | Figure stated |
| Angel Park Golf Club | NV | Public | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Ansley Golf Club | GA | Invitation only | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Apogee Golf Club | FL | Private | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Arrowhead Golf Club | CO | Public | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Arroyo Golf Club | NV | Resort | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Aviara Golf Club | CA | Resort | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Bali Hai Golf Club | NV | Public | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Bayonne Golf Club | NJ | Invitation only | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Reported, not club-published |
| Birkdale Golf Club | NC | Not recorded | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Black Gold Golf Club | CA | Public | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| BlackHorse Golf Club | TX | Not recorded | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Bolingbrook Golf Club | IL | Public | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Broadmoor Golf Club | WA | Private | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Brook Hollow Golf Club | TX | Private | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Brookhaven Country Club | TX | Private | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Reported, not club-published |
| Canyon Springs Golf Club | TX | Public | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Celebration Golf Club | FL | Public | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Colonial Country Club | TX | Private | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Reported, not club-published |
| Crosswinds Golf Club | GA | Public | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Cypresswood Golf Club | TX | Public | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Detroit Golf Club | MI | Invitation only | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Reported, not club-published |
| Dove Valley Ranch Golf Club | AZ | Public | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Eagle Mountain Golf Club | AZ | Public | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Eagle Trace Golf Club | CO | Public | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Foothills Golf Club | AZ | Public | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Gainey Ranch Golf Club | AZ | Private | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Glen Ivy Golf Club | CA | Public | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Glencoe Golf Club | IL | Municipal | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Golf Club of Dublin | OH | Not recorded | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Golf Club of Houston | TX | Private | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Gozzer Ranch Golf and Lake Club | ID | Private | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Grayhawk Golf Club | AZ | Public | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Indian Creek Country Club | FL | Invitation only | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Reported, not club-published |
| Indian Creek Golf Club | TX | Not recorded | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Intown Golf Club | — | Private | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Reported, not club-published |
| Irving Golf Club | TX | Municipal | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Jacaranda Golf Club | FL | Semi-Private | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Jeffersonville Golf Club | PA | Municipal | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Kapolei Golf Club | HI | Public | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Ko Olina Golf Club | HI | Resort | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Kokopelli Golf Club | IL | Public | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Lake Merced Golf Club | CA | Private | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Lakewood Country Club | TX | Private | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Reported, not club-published |
| Las Vegas Golf Club | NV | Public | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Layne Volleyball Club | OH | Not recorded | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Liberty National Golf Club | NJ | Invitation only | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Reported, not club-published |
| Lochmere Golf Club | NC | Semi-Private | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Longbow Golf Club | AZ | Public | No initiation fee charged | No membership sold — public tee times only | Not disclosed |
| Lookout Mountain Golf Club | AZ | Public | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Maderas Golf Club | CA | Public | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Miami Beach Golf Club | FL | Municipal | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Mount Hood Golf Club | MA | Municipal | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Oak Brook Golf Club | IL | Semi-Private | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Oakmont Country Club | PA | Invitation only | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Reported, not club-published |
| Revere Golf Club | NV | Public | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| River Ridge Golf Club | CA | Public | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| San Juan Hills Golf Club | CA | Public | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| San Ramon Golf Club | CA | Public | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Schaumburg Golf Club | IL | Public | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Scotland Run Golf Club | NJ | Not recorded | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Sequoyah National Golf Club | NC | Public | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Solina Golf Club | SC | Private | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Reported, not club-published |
| Springfield Golf Club | SC | Public | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Stone Canyon Golf Club | AZ | Private | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Stonewall Golf Club | VA | Not recorded | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Sycamore Hills Golf Club | IN | Private | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Talking Stick Golf Club | AZ | Public | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Texas Rangers Golf Club | TX | Municipal | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| The Ranch Golf Club | MA | Public | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| The Riviera Country Club | CA | Invitation only | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Reported, not club-published |
| Tiburon Golf Club | FL | Private | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Tustin Ranch Golf Club | CA | Semi-Private | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Valhalla Golf Club | KY | Private | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Warrior Golf Club | NC | Semi-Private | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Waterchase Golf Club | TX | Public | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Wequassett Resort and Golf Club | MA | Private | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Westridge Golf Club | CA | Public | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| White Eagle Golf Club | IL | Private | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Wildcat Golf Club | TX | Not recorded | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application | Not disclosed |
| Wolf Creek Golf Club | NV | Public | No initiation fee charged | No membership sold — public tee times only | Not disclosed |
The table lists every United States club GreatClubReview has reviewed. The 15 clubs that state a figure lead, ordered by annual price, and the remaining 80 follow alphabetically. Sort the Initiation fee or Annual membership column to bring the priced clubs together, or the Access column to isolate the private and invitation-only set. No cell is blank. In the Initiation fee column, 1 club states a figure, 35 record “No initiation fee charged” because no such charge exists, and 59 read “Not published — quotes on application”. In the Annual membership column, 15 clubs state a figure, 2 record “No membership sold — public tee times only”, and 78 read “Not published — quotes on application”. The Access column carries the six labels used across the reviews — Public on 41 clubs, Private on 18, Invitation only on 10, Municipal on 9, Semi-Private on 5 and Resort on 3, with 9 clubs whose access class the review does not record. One of the 95 reviews covers a volleyball club rather than a golf club, Layne Volleyball Club in Oberlin, Ohio; it discloses nothing and changes no figure on this page.
How Much Does Golf Club Membership Cost in the United States?
One of the 95 American golf clubs GreatClubReview has reviewed publishes an initiation fee. Fifteen publish an annual membership price, and the 14 adult rates among them run from $1,250 to $25,000. Three of the 28 clubs classed private or invitation-only publish dues; none publishes an initiation fee.
That is the whole of the US golf club membership cost record on this site, and it is drawn from reading each club’s own published material one at a time rather than from a national average. The median of the 14 published adult rates is $4,375 a year. The floor is Water’s Edge Golf Club in Illinois at $1,250 for its Complete membership; the ceiling is Caves Valley Golf Club in Maryland at $25,000 a year. Briarwood Golf Club in Pennsylvania is the fifteenth club, and it publishes an $80 junior and young-adult plan with no adult rate beside it, so it sits outside the adult range.
The other half of the answer is initiation fees at American clubs. Abacoa Golf Club in Jupiter, Florida states $10,000 for new members. No other club in the 95 states one. Thirty-five reviews record that no initiation fee is charged, which is a different fact from silence and is labelled differently in the table. The remaining 59 clubs hold the figure back.
What 95 American Golf Clubs Actually Disclose
Fifteen of 95 American clubs publish a membership price and one publishes an initiation fee. Thirty carry a dollar figure in their membership field, but 15 of those are green fees, discount cards, resident IDs or visitor rates rather than dues. Eighty clubs publish no membership figure at all.
Disclosure tracks access class, and it tracks it sharply. Public and daily-fee courses supply 8 of the 15 published prices and the single published initiation fee. Municipal courses supply 3, invitation-only clubs 3, and the remaining figure belongs to a club whose access class the review does not record. Private clubs supply none. The pattern is consistent enough that access class predicts disclosure better than club prestige, price or state does.
Private and Invitation-Only Clubs
Twenty-eight of the 95 clubs are classed private or invitation-only, and they publish zero initiation fees between them. Three publish dues, all three invitation-only: Baltusrol Golf Club at approximately $18,500 a year, Winged Foot Golf Club at approximately $15,000 to $20,000, and Caves Valley Golf Club at approximately $20,000 to $25,000. Each carries a tilde in the source, marking a rounded figure rather than a rate card. The other 25 publish neither number: Apogee, Lake Merced, Brook Hollow, Valhalla, Ansley, Liberty National, Gozzer Ranch, Broadmoor and 17 more. US private club dues are therefore known for 3 clubs out of 28, and US private club initiation fees for none.
Public and Daily-Fee Courses
Forty-one of the 95 clubs are public-access, and they carry most of the disclosure: 20 of them state a dollar figure and 8 of those figures are genuine annual memberships. Chimera Golf Club in Nevada publishes $5,500 to $10,000 annually for Nevada residents. McCormick Ranch Golf Club in Arizona publishes $3,050 to $4,550 for a seven-day single membership. Bridlewood Golf Club in Texas publishes annual golf from $2,400 to $4,200. Fort Mill Golf Club in South Carolina publishes $195 to $350 a month, which annualises to $4,200. Longbow Golf Club and Wolf Creek Golf Club state plainly that no membership applies to standard public play, and only tee times are available.
Municipal Courses
Nine clubs are municipal, and the season pass is their membership product. Three state a figure: Wilmette Golf Club at $50 to $2,700 depending on tier, age and residency; Hillandale Golf Course at $1,395 for a 2026 single annual pass; and Water’s Edge Golf Club at $400 for Range Goat, $550 for Players and $1,250 for Complete. Winnetka Golf Club and Deerfield Golf Club carry a Public label and run on the same village model, publishing $550 to $2,500 and $525 to $2,132 respectively. Four of these five figures are bands rather than single prices, varying by tier, age and residency; only Hillandale Golf Course states one number.
Published, Reported, or Not Disclosed: How to Read a Fee Figure
A published figure comes from the club; a reported figure comes from elsewhere and carries weaker evidence. Indian Creek Country Club’s initiation is recorded as approximately $1,000,000, reported and not club-published. Baltusrol, Winged Foot and Caves Valley dues are likewise approximate. Every row in the table above carries one of three grades.
The first grade is labelled Figure stated rather than published because the corpus records the number and not always its source. Three of the 15 figures in that grade carry a tilde marking a rounded amount. The distinction that holds across all 95 rows is between a figure with no hedge attached and a figure whose own sentence calls it an estimate.
| Figure stated | The review records a dollar figure with no hedge attached to it | 15 | Abacoa $10,000 initiation; Caves Valley $25,000 dues; Hillandale $1,395 annual pass |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reported, not club-published | A dollar figure exists but the review attributes it to outside reports or estimates | 11 | Indian Creek ~$1,000,000; Riviera ~$250,000+; Oakmont ~$150,000 resident |
| Not disclosed | No membership figure of any grade — the club quotes on application or charges nothing | 69 | Apogee, Lake Merced, Brook Hollow, Valhalla, Ansley |
Eleven clubs sit in the middle grade, and they are the ones the search results are full of. Indian Creek Country Club records an initiation of approximately $1,000,000 and dues of approximately $44,000 a year, both marked reported and not club-published. The Riviera Country Club records approximately $250,000-plus. Oakmont Country Club records approximately $150,000 for a resident member. Colonial Country Club records a reported $80,000 to $120,000 after its renovation, and Brookhaven Country Club an estimated $20,000 to $50,000 by category. Lakewood Country Club records a reported $25,000 to $80,000. Liberty National records outside estimates of $450,000 to $500,000, and Bayonne Golf Club commonly cited reports of $75,000 to $150,000. Solina Golf Club records community reports of about $10,000, Detroit Golf Club an estimated $18,500 to $36,000, and Intown Golf Club historical reports of roughly $3,000 to $8,500. Sixty-nine clubs publish nothing of any grade.
Treat the middle grade as a range to negotiate against, not a price. A reported figure has no date attached to it, no membership category attached to it, and no club behind it.
The Price on a Public Course Is Not a Membership Fee
Fifteen of the 30 American dollar figures are not membership dues. Grayhawk, Bali Hai, Angel Park and Canyon Springs publish dynamic green fees. Talking Stick sells a $129 Golf Card, Celebration a $399 Florida Elite Card, and Schaumburg a $20 resident golf ID. None of the four kinds is a membership.
This is the trap that produces the industry averages published elsewhere, and it is worth naming precisely because the site’s own fee parser fell into it before the guards were tightened. Four kinds of figure masquerade as a membership price in United States listings:
- Dynamic green fees — Grayhawk Golf Club, Bali Hai Golf Club, Angel Park Golf Club, Canyon Springs Golf Club and Dove Valley Ranch Golf Club price by demand and season, so the number a scraper catches is one day’s rate.
- Round rates with cart included — Waterchase Golf Club at $65 to $83 and Irving Golf Club at $36 to $60, both quoted with cart and tax.
- Discount cards — Talking Stick Golf Club at $129, Celebration Golf Club at $399, San Juan Hills Golf Club at $160 for an IN-Club, and Tustin Ranch Golf Club at $43.99 a month for a Ranch Card. Each buys a reduced green fee, not access.
- Resident identifiers and visitor rates — Schaumburg Golf Club at $20 for a new resident golf ID, and Kapolei Golf Club, whose review records no adult membership published and a posted visitor fee of $210.
Foothills Golf Club publishes $129 to $169 a month for a simulator membership and no outdoor membership at all, which is a fifth variant of the same problem. Any average built by summing the 30 dollar figures in this corpus would be wrong by half its inputs. That is the reason this page counts disclosures instead of averaging prices.
What Is a Municipal Golf Course?
A municipal golf course is owned by a city, county or town government and run for public access rather than for a membership roll. Nine of the 95 American clubs reviewed here are municipal, and the defining commercial difference is blunt: eight of those nine charge no initiation fee at all.
That is the cleanest line between a muni and a private club. A private club sells a place, priced on application and gated by a committee. A municipal course sells a season pass or an annual card, published by the authority that owns it, available to anyone who pays — usually cheaper for residents of the city or county that owns the course.
Residency is the variable with no private-club equivalent. Wilmette Golf Club prices its annual membership from $50 to $2,700 depending on tier, age and residency, so two golfers can pay very different sums for the same course in the same season.
| Annual membership | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Wilmette Golf Club | IL | No initiation fee charged | $2,700 |
| Hillandale Golf Course | NC | No initiation fee charged | $1,395 |
| Water’s Edge Golf Club | IL | No initiation fee charged | $1,250 |
| Glencoe Golf Club | IL | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application |
| Irving Golf Club | TX | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application |
| Jeffersonville Golf Club | PA | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application |
| Mount Hood Golf Club | MA | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application |
| Texas Rangers Golf Club | TX | No initiation fee charged | Not published — quotes on application |
| Miami Beach Golf Club | FL | Not published — quotes on application | Not published — quotes on application |
Three of the nine publish an annual figure. Hillandale Golf Course lists $1,395 for a 2026 single annual pass, Wilmette tops out at $2,700, and Water’s Edge Golf Club runs three tiers reaching $1,250. The other six publish nothing, which is the same wall this page documents everywhere else: municipal ownership makes a course public, it does not make its pricing public.
The One Club in Ninety-Five That Publishes an Initiation Fee
Abacoa Golf Club in Jupiter, Florida publishes $10,000 for new members, and it is the only American club in the 95 that publishes an initiation fee. It also publishes dues of $8,000 for an individual and $11,250 for a family, plus tax, making it the single United States club in the corpus that publishes both figures.
The exception proves the pattern rather than breaking it. Abacoa Golf Club is a public-access course that sells an optional membership alongside daily tee times. Its $10,000 is a public-club joining fee competing for members against the price of paying per round, and a club competing on price publishes the price. A private club with a waiting list has no such incentive. Australia’s 27 clubs that publish both figures behave the same way — 29 of the 35 Australian public-access clubs state a figure, against 4 of the 19 Australian private clubs.
Why Australian Clubs Publish and American Clubs Do Not
Forty-one percent of Australian clubs publish a joining fee against one percent of American clubs. Thirty-three of 80 Australian clubs state a figure between A$150 and A$20,000. One of 95 American clubs states one, and that club is public-access rather than private.
| Clubs reviewed | 95 | 80 |
|---|---|---|
| Publish a joining or initiation fee | 1 (1%) | 33 (41%) |
| Published joining-fee range | $10,000, one club only | A$150 to A$20,000 |
| Publish an annual membership price | 15 (16%) | 47 (59%) |
| Published annual range | $1,250 to $25,000 | A$400 to A$7,000 |
| Publish both figures | 1 | 27 |
| Publish neither figure | 80 | 27 |
Readers searching for why American clubs hide their initiation fees are looking at a market norm rather than a policy any single club invented. The measured facts are the two disclosure rates, 1 of 95 and 33 of 80, and the access-class split inside each market. The explanation below is interpretation, not a corpus measurement. Australian clubs are member-owned incorporated associations that set subscriptions at a general meeting and publish a category price list to their own members, so the price list is a governance document that happens to be public. American private clubs are equity or non-equity clubs that admit by nomination, and a quoted price would set an expectation the admissions committee is not obliged to meet.
The consequence is the same either way. An Australian golfer prices a club before contacting it. An American golfer at a private club cannot, and the number they find online is somebody else’s estimate.
What You Can Price Before You Apply
Season passes, discount cards and public-course memberships are all priced in public, and they cover 16 of the 95 clubs. These are the products an American golfer can compare on cost without contacting anybody, and they answer how much a US golf membership costs at the accessible end of the market:
- Municipal and public season passes, $50 to $2,700 — Wilmette Golf Club $50 to $2,700, Winnetka Golf Club $550 to $2,500, Deerfield Golf Club $525 to $2,132, Hillandale Golf Course $1,395, Water’s Edge Golf Club $400 to $1,250.
- Public-course annual memberships, $2,400 to $10,000 — Chimera Golf Club $5,500 to $10,000 for Nevada residents, McCormick Ranch Golf Club $3,050 to $4,550, Bridlewood Golf Club $2,400 to $4,200, Fort Mill Golf Club $195 to $350 a month.
- Discount cards, $20 to $399 — Schaumburg Golf Club $20, Talking Stick Golf Club $129, San Juan Hills Golf Club $160, Celebration Golf Club $399, Tustin Ranch Golf Club $43.99 a month.
- Junior and young-adult plans, from $80 — Briarwood Golf Club publishes an $80 plan and no adult rate.
- Public-club joining fees, $10,000 — Abacoa Golf Club, the only one in the 95.
Whether any of these clears the cost of paying per round is a separate calculation, and the guide to the break-even calculation for golf club membership runs it against the published dues of 62 named clubs. The distinction that matters here is that every figure in the list above is a price you can read before you commit, and every private-club number on this page is not.
How to Find Out What a Specific Club Charges
Ask the club in writing for the total payable in year one, itemised. A private American club will quote on application, and an application is the only route to a real number. Five steps get a figure that can be relied on:
- Check the club’s own membership page first. Eight of the 41 public-access clubs in this corpus publish a full annual rate. A public-access club that sells memberships competes on price and states it.
- Identify the access class before you ask. A municipal course sells a season pass, a public course sells an annual membership, and a private club quotes on application — the question is different for each.
- Request the figure in writing, naming the category you want. Ask for initiation or joining fee, annual dues, food and beverage minimum, capital assessment and cart or trail fee as separate lines.
- Ask whether the initiation fee is refundable, transferable or amortised, and whether a capital assessment is running. An equity club’s joining fee is partly a deposit; a non-equity club’s is not.
- Treat any figure you find on a forum, a listing site or an AI summary as a reported figure. Eleven clubs on this page have reported numbers circulating and none of the 11 confirms one.
The site’s guide to how to join a private golf club in the United States covers the sponsorship, nomination and waiting-list sequence that sits around step three. The record of what American golf clubs charge becomes knowable at the point an application opens, and not before.
Where the number is published, it is worth reading properly — and one of the two markets in this corpus publishes it 41 times as readily as the other.
Where the Figures Are Published: Australia
Australian clubs publish a joining fee 41% of the time and an annual subscription 59% of the time, so the Australian half of this corpus supports the price table the American half cannot. Thirty-three of 80 clubs state a joining fee from A$150 at Pine Rivers Golf Club to A$20,000 for the Country category at Indooroopilly Golf Club.
Forty-seven Australian clubs publish an adult annual subscription, from A$400 at Howlong Golf Resort to A$7,000 at Pennant Hills Golf Club, at a median of A$1,751. Twenty-seven publish both figures, so first-year cost at those 27 clubs is arithmetic rather than estimate. The full state-by-state breakdown sits in the guide to golf club membership cost in Australia by state, which is figure-led in a way this page cannot be.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does golf club membership cost in the United States?
Fifteen of the 95 American clubs GreatClubReview has reviewed publish an annual membership price, and the 14 adult rates run from $1,250 to $25,000 at a median of $4,375. One club publishes an initiation fee, Abacoa Golf Club at $10,000. The other 80 clubs publish no membership figure at all.
Why do American golf clubs not publish their initiation fees?
Private American clubs admit by nomination rather than by purchase, so a published price would commit an admissions committee that is not obliged to be committed. Public-access clubs compete for members against the cost of a round and publish accordingly: 8 of the 41 public clubs in this corpus state an annual price, against 0 of the 18 private clubs.
What is a municipal golf course?
A municipal golf course is owned by a city, county or town government and operated for public access rather than for a membership roll. Nine of the 95 American clubs reviewed here are municipal, eight of them charge no initiation fee, and the price usually depends on whether you live in the authority that owns the course.
What is the average country club initiation fee?
No honest average exists from this corpus. One American club in 95 publishes an initiation fee, so an average would be built from 94 figures the clubs never published. The reported figures circulating for private clubs range from about $3,000 at Intown Golf Club to about $1,000,000 at Indian Creek Country Club, and none is confirmed by the club.
What is the difference between an initiation fee and annual dues?
An initiation fee is a one-off payment made on admission to the club. Annual dues are the recurring yearly charge for membership. Abacoa Golf Club charges both: $10,000 to join and $8,000 a year for an individual. A capital assessment is a third charge, levied on existing members to fund building work.
Do public golf courses have memberships?
Yes. Forty-one of the 95 American clubs reviewed are public-access, and 8 of them publish an annual membership price alongside daily tee times, from Briarwood Golf Club’s $80 junior plan to Abacoa Golf Club’s $11,250 family rate. Two publish that no membership applies. A discount card such as Talking Stick’s $129 Golf Card is not a membership.
Is a reported initiation fee accurate?
A reported figure carries no date, no membership category and no club behind it. Eleven of the 95 American clubs have a reported figure recorded and none confirms it. Bayonne Golf Club’s reported $75,000 to $150,000 is a 2:1 range, and Detroit Golf Club’s reported $18,500 to $36,000 is close to 2:1. Treat both as negotiating context.