Country Club Membership Cost (2026): Categories, Dues and the All-In Number

A country club membership is not one price. GreatClubReview checked the six country clubs it has reviewed: not one publishes an initiation fee or dues, so every figure below is reported rather than club-published, and each club sells several categories at different prices. Compare the categories, the dues and the all-in annual cost below.

  • 0 of 6country clubs reviewed that publish an initiation fee
  • 3–5membership categories per club, where disclosed
  • $8,000–$40,000+reported all-in annual cost, the five clubs reporting one
  • $9,000cheapest disclosed category, per year (Lakewood social)

How Much Does a Country Club Membership Cost?

On the disclosure question the answer is blunt: 0 of 6 country clubs reviewed here publish an initiation fee, and 0 of 6 publish their dues. Every number in the table below is reported second-hand or estimated, and none of it comes from the club. Reported all-in annual cost runs $8,000–$40,000+ across the five clubs that report one, which is a four-fold spread driven less by prestige than by which category you join.

That spread is the real answer to the question. A country club sells access to golf, tennis, a pool, a dining room and a social calendar, and it prices those separately. Asking what a country club costs without naming a category is like asking what a car costs without naming the model.

Reported membership cost at the six United States country clubs GreatClubReview has reviewed, checked September 2026. No figure in this table is published by the club. Sort any column by its heading.
Brookhaven Country ClubTXPrivate, non-equity$20,000–$50,000 by category$500–$1,440 per month$8,000–$20,000
Colonial Country ClubTXPrivate, member-owned$80,000–$120,000$500–$600 per month$10,000–$16,000
Lakewood Country ClubTXPrivate, referral required$25,000–$80,000 by category$640–$915 per month$12,000–$16,000
Oakmont Country ClubPAInvitation only$150,000 resident, $25,000 national$1,250 per month$17,000–$25,000
The Riviera Country ClubCAInvitation only, non-equity$250,000 and above$10,000–$40,000 per year$25,000–$40,000 and above
Indian Creek Country ClubFLInvitation onlyClose to $1,000,000$44,000 per yearNot reported

Read every one of those figures as an estimate. The distinction matters enough that the US guide treats it as its central question, and the three grades it uses — published, reported, or not disclosed — apply to all six clubs here at the weakest grade.

What Each Club Charges, by Membership Category

Five of the six disclose something about their category structure, and this is where the useful money information sits. Clubs that disclose a structure list 3–5 membership categories. The cheapest disclosed category across the six is Lakewood social at a reported $9,000 per year, which is less than a tenth of what the same club reports for a full golf joining fee.

Membership categories as described in the six GreatClubReview country club reviews, September 2026. Category names are as recorded in each review.
Oakmont Country ClubResident, National (capped at 75), Spousal, Junior, Social5National, $25,000 initiation
Lakewood Country ClubGolf, Tennis, Social3Social, $9,000 per year
The Riviera Country ClubFull Golf, Sports/Social, Junior3Sports/Social, within $10,000–$40,000 dues band
Colonial Country ClubFull Golf, plus sports and social tiers2 namedSports/social tier, not priced publicly
Brookhaven Country ClubMultiple tiers, not individually namedNot itemisedLowest tier, $20,000 initiation
Indian Creek Country ClubNot disclosed publiclyNot disclosedNot disclosed

Golf, Tennis, Social and Junior: What the Categories Buy

A full golf category carries unrestricted course access and the largest joining fee. At Lakewood Country Club the reported golf initiation is $25,000–$80,000, tennis is about $25,000, and social is about $9,000 a year. Those are three different products sold under one club name, and the gap between them is larger than the gap between most clubs.

Social and sports categories are the cheap door, and they are cheap because they usually exclude the golf course or restrict it hard. Before treating a social tier as a bargain, establish in writing how many rounds it permits, at what notice, and in which seasons. A social membership that never gets you onto the first tee is not a discounted golf membership.

The sports and social tier is the one most often misread. Riviera Country Club sells Full Golf, Sports/Social and Junior categories by invitation, with dues reported across a $10,000–$40,000 band, and the band itself is the tell: the distance between the cheapest and dearest category at one club is wider than the distance between two different clubs.

Junior and spousal categories work differently again: they are usually age-banded or attached to an existing full member, so they are not independently purchasable. Oakmont Country Club runs the most granular structure of the six, with five named categories including a National tier capped at seventy-five members and reported at $25,000 against $150,000 for a resident place.

Where a club is non-equity, you are buying access rather than ownership, and the category is a service tier rather than a share. That distinction changes what your money buys and whether any of it is refundable, and it is covered in detail under equity vs non-equity clubs.

The Costs That Are Not in the Initiation Fee

The joining fee and the dues are the two numbers people ask about, and together they routinely understate the real annual figure. Four cost lines sit outside them, and all four appear in these six reviews.

Food and beverage minimums. A spend requirement in the dining room, charged whether or not you eat there. Oakmont reports a food and beverage minimum of about $2,000 a year. Brookhaven Country Club describes minimums, monthly service charges and cart fees layered on top of dues.

Capital assessments. One-off levies to fund building work, and the least predictable line of the four. Colonial completed a $20 million Gil Hanse course renovation, and its review describes capital components and assessments in the membership fine print. A club in the middle of a capital programme is a different financial proposition from the same club five years later.

Service charges and cart or caddie spend. Recurring, per-round, and easy to leave out of a budget. At a walking club with a caddie programme this can be the largest variable line of the year.

The gap between dues and all-in. Lakewood reports $640–$915 a month in dues, which annualises to roughly $7,700–$11,000, yet the review puts all-in at $12,000–$16,000. The difference is the four lines above, and it is the number worth planning against. If you are weighing that total against paying per round, the cost per round comparison is the right frame.

What the Tax Filings Show

A country club exempt under section 501(c)(7) files a public Form 990, and two of these six have usable filings. This is the only route to a verified figure anywhere on this page, and even then it reports aggregate annual initiation income for the whole club, never a per-member price.

Initiation income reported on Form 990 by the two GreatClubReview country clubs with usable filings. Figures are aggregate annual income for the club, not a per-member fee.
ClubFiled years with a figureRangeMedianShare of revenue
Oakmont Country Club (EIN 250699130)13, FY2012–FY2024$935,454–$1,936,829$1,372,5918.3%–19.9%, median 14.0%
Indian Creek Country Club (EIN 590302870)7, FY2011–FY2017$1,373,798–$2,346,450$2,044,00014.7%–25.5%, median 23.0%

Oakmont has reported initiation income in every one of its thirteen filed years, peaking at $1,936,829 in FY2022. Against revenue the share is remarkably stable, moving between 8.3% and 19.9% with a median of 14.0% across more than a decade.

Indian Creek Country Club reported initiation income of $1,373,798 to $2,346,450 across seven years to FY2017, a share of revenue running as high as 25.5%. From FY2018 onward the field reads zero in every filing. Why it changed is not determinable from the filing itself, and it would be wrong to infer a cause from the form alone.

Two clarifications matter here. Lakewood files a Form 990 but the initiation field reads zero in all twelve filed years while its review reports $25,000–$80,000, so its filings are excluded from this comparison. Riviera, Colonial and Brookhaven do not file as 501(c)(7) organisations at all, so no equivalent public record exists for them.

Why No American Country Club Publishes Its Price

Quoting on application is the norm, not an oversight. A private club that publishes a number invites comparison shopping on a single figure, and it loses the ability to price categories differently for different applicants. The result for anyone researching from outside is that the public record is entirely second-hand.

This is not specific to country clubs. Across the ninety-five American golf clubs reviewed on this site, exactly one publishes an initiation fee. The pattern, and what it means for reading any figure you find online, is set out in the US membership cost guide.

How to Get a Real Number Before You Apply

Ask the membership office in writing for the total payable in year one, itemised, for the specific category you want. A serious enquiry gets a serious answer, and the itemisation is what exposes the four cost lines above.

Four questions do most of the work. What is the joining fee for this category, and is any part refundable. What are the monthly dues and what do they include. What is the food and beverage minimum. Is there a capital assessment running now or approved for the next three years.

Then ask how you are expected to get in at all, because at four of these six clubs the money is not the binding constraint. Indian Creek requires two member sponsors plus letters from five additional members for roughly three hundred and fifty places. Where sponsorship is required, the queue and the vetting decide the outcome long before the fee does.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a country club membership cost?

None of the six country clubs GreatClubReview has reviewed publishes a price, so every figure is reported rather than club-published. Reported initiation fees run from $20,000 at Brookhaven to close to $1,000,000 at Indian Creek, and at the five clubs reporting an all-in figure it runs $8,000 to more than $40,000 depending on the club and the category you join.

Why do country clubs not publish their fees?

American private clubs quote on application rather than publishing. Across the six country clubs reviewed here, not one publishes an initiation fee or annual dues, and every figure held on this site is reported second-hand or estimated. The practical consequence is that no number you find online can be verified before you contact the membership office directly.

What is the cheapest way to join a country club?

A social or tennis category rather than full golf. Lakewood reports social membership at about $9,000 a year against a reported golf initiation of $25,000 to $80,000, and tennis at about $25,000. Social categories usually exclude course access or restrict it sharply, so confirm exactly what play rights the cheaper tier actually carries.

What costs are not included in the initiation fee?

Food and beverage minimums, capital assessments, monthly service charges, and cart or caddie spend. Oakmont reports a food and beverage minimum of about $2,000 a year. Colonial describes capital components tied to a $20 million course renovation. Brookhaven describes minimums, service charges and cart fees charged on top of the monthly dues.

Do country clubs publish financial information anywhere?

Some do, indirectly. A country club exempt under section 501(c)(7) files a public Form 990. Oakmont reported initiation income in all thirteen filed years from FY2012 to FY2024, between $935,454 and $1,936,829. Riviera, Colonial and Brookhaven do not file as 501(c)(7) organisations, so no equivalent public record exists.

How many membership categories does a country club have?

Between three and five at the clubs that disclose a structure. Oakmont lists Resident, National capped at seventy-five, Spousal, Junior and Social. Lakewood lists Golf, Tennis and Social. Riviera lists Full Golf, Sports/Social and Junior. Indian Creek does not disclose its membership categories publicly at all.

David Luis

Club Reviewer & Founder — GreatClubReview.com

13 club reviews written

David Luis has spent more than a decade researching, visiting, and reviewing private and public clubs across the United States. A golfer and club culture enthusiast, he founded GreatClubReview.com to give prospective members and guests an honest, membership-fee-transparent view of what clubs are actually worth. Every review draws on firsthand research, member conversations, and publicly available pricing data — no press packages, no comped access. He has published reviews of more than a dozen golf, country, sports, and private members clubs across North America.